Databases
0-9 | A |
B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J |
K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S |
T | U | V
| W | X | Y |
Z |
(NIH/NCIF) - Access restricted to NIH
& NCI-Frederick sites |
(NCIF) - Access
restricted to NCI-Frederick
A
-
AccessScience - McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science
and Technology Online and The McGraw-Hill Dictionary. Click on
"Subscriber Log-in."
(NIH/NCIF)
-
AGRICOLA
- (1970 - ). via the NIH Ovid gateway, this National Agricultural Library (NAL)
database contains bibliographic records of materials acquired by the NAL and
cooperating institutions in agricultural and related sciences. Records come
from the NAL Online Catalog and NAL's Article Citation Database. (NIH/NCIF)
B
-
Biobase
Knowledge Library (BKL) - formerly Proteome
BioKnowledge Library, this new systems tool includes a new
version of the analysis tool, ExPlain. BKL is
installed on the Helix Systems at NIH. It is a powerful, web-based collection
of gene-regulation oriented scientific databases including
Transfac, Transpath, and some Proteome
databases (HumanPSD, YPD, WormPD). The ExPlain analysis took
can use data in BKL to create a biological interpretation of microarray,
proteomic, and ChIP-chip data, and more. Note: Access to these resources will
require your NIH domain username and password. Tutorials for using the tools
are also available on the CIT website.
(NIH/NCIF)
- bioDBnet
- developed at the Advanced
Biomedical Computing Center (ABCC), SAIC-Frederick,
bioDBnet integrates many public databases such as
Ensembl, NCBI-Gene, GO, UniProt, Affy, etc. It has tools to
get detailed annotation reports and also to convert between biological
identifiers like proteins to genes or pathways to genes or
RefSeq proteins to Ensembl proteins, etc. Any
questions or requests to bioDBnet can be made through the
ABCC contact
form.
-
Biological
Abstracts via ISI - (1990 - ). Biological
Abstracts, a bibliographic database that emphasizes basic life
sciences, is available via ISI Web of Knowledge.
Search options include Topic, Source Publication, Taxonomic Data, and CAS
Registry Number. Results may be emailed, saved, exported to reference software,
or analyzed by author, major concept, super taxa, and other criteria. Thomson
Scientific provides an online Biological Abstracts
Tutorial describing how to search the database. A link to the Tutorial
appears at the bottom of the search screen. For further assistance with
searching, see
Searching
BIOSIS on the ISI Web of Knowledge or contact the Library at
NCIFredLibrary@mail.nih.gov.
Please Logoff after each session.
(NIH/NCIF)
C
- Chemical Databases -
Information about access to Chemical Abstracts on CD-ROM,
Beilstein, and DiscoveryGate in the Scientific Library.
(NCIF)
- ChemID
Plus - From TOXNET, NLM's Toxicology Data Network, a searchable
dictionary of over 370,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures).
Includes links to NLM and other databases and resources.
- ChemNavigator
- Available to all NIH affiliated scientific researchers, NIH
has made an agreement with ChemNavigator to provide a current
and comprehensive database of commercially accessible drug discovery screening
compounds. If you are an NIH researcher, once you register in
the system, you'll have full access to the iResearch System.
Then you will be able to perform chemical structure searches for compound
samples of interest and purchase these samples through this on-line system.
(NCIF/NIH)
-
CINAHL
Plus - (1982 - ). If not taken directly, click on
EbscoHost Research Databases link to search the
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL
Plus) database, indexing over 3,200 journals with access to
evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, research instruments, and continuing
education modules.
(NIH/NCIF)
-
Clinical
Reader - free, beta interactive resource for browsing clinical,
scientific and health literature; updated every 30 minutes, features latest
articles from high impact factor & popular journals, health news sources
& multimedia content.
-
ClinicalTrials.gov
- (1982 - ). With over 70,000 trials in 167 countries, this database, a service
of the NIH, is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials
conducted in the United States and around the world. Find trials for a specific
medical condition or other criteria in the registry.
-
Cochrane
Library |
About - The Cochrane Collaboration, an
international non-profit and independent organisation, produces and
disseminates systematic reviews of healthcare interventions, promoting the
search for evidence in the form of clinical trials and other studies of
interventions. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews is
published quarterly as part of The Cochrane Library. Reviewers
are health care professionals who volunteer to work in a Collaborative Review
Group, with editorial teams overseeing and applying rigorous quality standards
to the reviews, .
(NIH/NCIF)
- Community
of Science (COS) Expertise® Database |
About -
provides detailed professional information including affiliation, area of
expertise, publications, and contact information for over 480,000 researchers
worldwide. COS registration is required for use. From the menu
bar at the top of the COS main page, click on "Join," then the
"Join" button on the following page. Type in required information, being sure
to select "National Institutes of Health (NIH)" as your institution, then
"Continue".
(NIH/NCIF)
-
Conference Papers Index - provides
citations [not full text] to papers and poster sessions
presented at major scientific meetings. Updated bimonthly, coverage is from
1982. Since 1995, subject emphasis has been in the life sciences, environmental
sciences, and aquatic sciences; older material also covers physics, engineering
and materials science.
(NIH/NCIF)
-
Cytoscape
(software) - an open source bioinformatics software platform for
visualizing molecular interaction networks and integrating these interactions
with gene expression profiles and other state data. This free software needs to
be downloaded on individual computers. (See more detailed description on
Library
Orientation & Instructional Classes list.)
D
-
DailyMed
- A public service from NLM, provides information
about marketed drugs including FDA approved labels (package inserts).
-
DATA.gov
- provides free public access to machine readable
datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government; includes
access to searchable data catalogs - the "raw" data catalog, the tool catalog,
and the geodata catalog.
-
DXplain
- Diagnostic Decision Support (DXplain) is a decision
support system using clinical findings (signs, symptoms, labs) to produce a
ranked list of diagnoses. For each diagnosis, it provides justification for
consideration, further clinical data to collect, and atypical findings.
DXplain doesn't offer definitive medical consultation and
should not be used as a substitute for physician diagnostic decision making.
(NIH/NCIF)
E
-
EcoSal
- continually updated Web resource based on ASM Press's
Escherichia coli and Salmonella: Cellular and Molecular
Biology. (NIH/NCIF)
-
EFacts Drug Database - online reference Facts
& Comparisons, with drug information, interactions, herbal
information, and patient medication handouts. [Click on 'eFacts login
page link' if your session has timed out].
(NIH/NCIF).
-
EMBASE - searchable drug-related information. Indexes over
4,500 biomedical journals from 70 countries. EMBASE: dated
from 1974 to present, with a some records from earlier years.
MEDLINE: covers 1966 to present with somerecords from earlier
years. Note: to include records from earlier years than 1966 in your search,
select as starting year the option: <1966. See
PubMed for complete access
to MEDLINE.
(NIH/NCIF).
F
-
Faculty
of 1000 Biology | About - online research
service that highlights and reviews interesting papers in the life sciences,
based on recommendations of over 2300 selected researchers.
(NIH/NCIF).
G
-
GeneGo,
MetaCore, MetaRodent - The CCR Office of Science and Technology
Partnerships (OSTP) and the Center for Biomedical Informatics and Information
Technology (CBIIT) has formed an agreement with GeneGo, Inc.,
to provide their pathway analysis database and analysis tools,
MetaCoreTM and MetaRodentTM. As an
NCI researcher, you have full access to use the
MetaCore/MetaRodent platform. Please contact David Goldstein (goldsted@mail.nih.gov, 301-496-4347) or
Shoshana Segal (shosh@nih.gov, 301-496-0923)
for login and password information.
(NIH/NCIF)
-
Gene2MeSH
- an automated literature-based genome annotation using MeSH.
H
-
Health
and Psychosocial instruments (HAPI) - (1985 - ). via the NIH Ovid
gateway, provides access to information on measurement instruments
(questionaires, checklists, interview schedules, index measures, coding
schemes, manuals, etc.,) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and
organizational behavior.
(NIH/NCIF)
-
Henry Stewart Talks Collection - Biomedical &
Life Sciences: this series of specially prepared animated audiovisual
presentations with synchronized narration by world leading scientists is
keeping researchers informed throughout the world. The collection is constantly
being expanded and updated and already over seven hundred leading world experts
have recorded presentations especially for Henry Stewart Talks
.
(NCIF)
-
HIV
Databases - These databases contain data on HIV genetic
sequences, immunological epitopes, drug
resistance-associated mutations, and vaccine trials.
Also included is access to a large number of tools that can be used to analyze
these data. This project is funded by the Division of AIDS of the
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), a part
of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
J
-
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) - via ISI's Web of
Knowledge interface provides "Impact Factors" & "Journal
Rankings," to help evaluate scholarly journals, using citation data from over
8,400 journals.
(NCIF)
K
-
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology -
Click on 'Article Titles A-Z' or 'Topics' under 'Browse this title' on
right side of screen. Includes articles on chemical substances, with
their properties, manufacturing, and uses; also focuses on industrial processes
and unit operations in chemical engineering, and environmental issues
concerning chemical biology.
(NIH/NCIF)
L
M
-
MedlinePlus |
About - Free to all, a consumer health information service of the
National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
-
MiSearch
- a literature search tool that works with NCBI Entrez and displays
results in order of those most relevant to your research interests.
N
-
Natural Standard - founded by clinicians and researchers
to provide high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and
alternative therapies, this international multidisciplinary collaboration now
includes contributors from more than 100 eminent academic institutions.
(NIH/NCIF)
-
NCBI
BioSystems Database - biological pathways databases which can be
searched directly or accessed via links from Entrez Gene, Protein, PubChem
Compound, and more.
-
NCI-Frederick-in-Print
- this database is a collection of citations for journal articles authored by
employees and contractors of the National Cancer Institute at Frederick from
1997 through the present. Please bear in mind that this new product is a work
in progress, and we
welcome any comments you may have.
(NCIF)
-
NIH
OVID Databases - inlcudes AGRICOLA, Books@Ovid, Health
& Psychosocial Instruments, PsychINFO and more. Click
"Connect to the Ovid Databases."
[Click 'Start Ovid' without user id or password if prompted.]
Logoff after each session.
(NIH/NCIF)
-
NIH RePORTER - beta version of the replacement for the NIH
grants database, formerly known as CRISP, includes dollar
amounts, the study section that reviewed the grant, and links to patents and
papers. (NIH/NCIF)
-
NLM Gateway - allows simultaneous searching in multiple
retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
(NIH/NCIF)
O
-
OpenHelix - OpenHelix announced the launch of a new
portal that assists researchers in conducting breakthrough research. The
portal, available to NIH/NCIF employees, directs scientists to the most
relevant publicly available bioinformatics and genomics resources on the web,
and then gives them immediate access to tutorials, training materials, and
useful tips and information developed by OpenHelix. Access requires a one-time
individual registration. Read
more about OpenHelix. (NIH/NCIF)
-
Organohalogen Compounds Database - archives short papers
presented at annual Dioxin Symposia from 1990 to date. Sponsored by the
nonprofit group, Dioxin 20XX, of the International Advisory Board of the
International Symposium of Halogenated Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs),
this free database includes scientific papers in pdf format and covers POPs as
they relate to disciplines such as molecular biology, human health risk
assessment, management risk assessment, and environmental and analytical
chemistry.
P
-
PsychInfo
- (1806 - ) via the NIH Ovid gateway, provides citations with abstracts to the
scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health
sciences.
(NIH/NCIF)
-
PubChem
- PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative.
-
PubMed
@ NCIF |
FAQ
- Use the 'PubMed @ NCIF' link to view the Scientific
Library's 'Full-Text' and 'Print' icons while searching
PubMed. PubMed is a free version of
MEDLINE with access to an index of biomedical literature
journals from 1950 forward, as well as a growing collection of free reference
books [NCBI
Bookshelf] that can be searched by keyword within the
PubMed interface.
Q
- QUOSA
Information Manager - QUOSA Information Manager
for biomedical researchers enables you to search certain databases, e.g.
OVID, and retrieve all full-text articles at one time.
Software is designed for individual desktops. Click on the "Download" link on
the left side of the QUOSA main page; then download either
Windows or Mac Subscriber Version; demos are available on the
QUOSA page. Questions about the software or problems with
access should be directed to support@quosa.com.
QUOSA
archived videocast presentations: November 14, 2007
(http://videocast.nih.gov/launch.asp?14151);
and September 13, 2006 (http://videocast.nih.gov/launch.asp?13360).
The QUOSA software is available through the
institutional license purchased by NCI.
(NCI/NCIF)
S
-
ScienceDirect Database - link to the main page of
ScienceDirect's electronic collection of full-text science, technology, medical
journals and books and bibliographic information; you can also find a wide
variety of other features and content.
(NIH/NCIF)
-
SCOPUS
- an abstract and indexing database from Elsevier Science,
Scopus, offers access to over 14,000 peer-reviewed titles from
more than 4,000 international publishers covering scientific, technical,
medical, and social science literature and 15 million patents. In
Scopus, you can set up an email alert to let you know each
time a particular article of interest is cited in Scopus.
(NIH/NCIF)
-
Springer Protocols - full-text access to over 16,000
online biomedical research protocols from Methods in Molecular
Biology (1984-), Methods in Molecular
Medicine (1996-), content found in Neuromethods,
Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Methods
in Biotechnology. Access individual titles in Springer
Protocols from the Online
Catalog using either the Series title or the unique volume
title. (NIH/NCIF)
-
Structural
Genomics KnowledgeBase - The Structural Genomics Knowledgebase
(SGKB) is a free, comprehensive resource produced in a collaboration between
the Protein Structure Initiative (PSI) and Nature Publishing Group
(NPG). The site offers you an easy way of keeping abreast of
developments both by the PSI and more generally in the fields of structural
genomics and structural biology.
T
-
ToxNet
- from NLM, databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health,
and toxic releases.
U
-
UpToDate
- an evidence-based tool for answering clinical questions and identifying
treatments with over 75,000 pages of peer-reviewed text, written and reviewed
by clinicians.
(NIH/NCIF)
W
-
Web
of Knowledge (WOK) - in March 2007, access to
Web of Science was
transferred from the NIH intranet to the Thomson ISI commercial server. As part
of this migration, all Porpoise Alerts had to be converted to Thomson ISI's
Alert Service by April 18, 2007. Learn more about what the Library can do to
help you with Alerts.
WOK features a number of online reference products
including Web of
Science, online version of ISI's Science Citation Index
Expanded (1900 - present) & Social Sciences Citation Index, (1956 -
present); with "Cited Reference Search," a unique tool for citation
reference searching, Journal Citation Reports, for impact
factors and citation data for over 8,000 journal titles; ISI
HighlyCited.com, to identify highly cited researchers,
Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE,
BiologyBrowser, and Index to Organism Names.
(NIH/NCIF)